Lucien Stryk Asian Translation Prize

Lucien Stryk Asian Translation Prize

The Lucien Stryk Asian Translation Prize, which was inaugurated in 2009, recognizes the importance of Asian translation for international literature and promotes the translation of Asian works into English. Stryk was an internationally acclaimed translator of Japanese and Chinese Zen poetry, renowned Zen poet himself, and former professor of English at Northern Illinois University. Both translators and publishers are invited to submit titles.

Recent winners include Red Pine (2010), Charles Egan (2011), Lucas Klein (2013), Jonathan Chaves (2014), Eleanor Goodman (2015), Sawako Nakayasu (2016), Jennifer Feeley (2017), Bonnie Huie (2018), Don Mee Choi (2012 & 2019), and Jake Levine, Soeun Seo, and Hedgie Choi (2020). 

To be eligible for the Lucien Stryk Asian Translation Prize, works must be: 

  • book-length translations into English of either a) poetry or b) source texts from Zen Buddhism (which must not consist solely of commentaries) 
  • translations from Chinese, Hindi, Japanese, Kannada, Korean, Sanskrit, Tamil, Thai, or Vietnamese into English 
  • published in the previous calendar year

Submissions will be judged according to the literary significance of the original and the success of the translation in recreating the literary artistry of the original. While the Lucien Stryk Asian Translation Prize is primarily intended to recognize the translation of contemporary works, re-translations or first-time translations of important older works will also be seriously considered.

Submissions are accepted beginning in January each year. The deadline for nominating books published in 2019 was May 4, 2020. 

How to Submit:

1. Complete the entry form online (now closed).

2. Send hard copies of the book(s) submitted to the judges requesting them. Upon completion of the submission, publishers will receive instructions for mailing print copies of submitted titles to those judges who request them. The postmark deadline for mailing hard copies is May 4, 2020, but due to the situation around COVID-19 we understand that many publishers are utilizing a remote work model at present. If it is possible to send physical copies to our judges by the postmark deadline publishers are encouraged to do so; if not, as soon after as is possible will be acceptable as well. No publisher will penalized for not being able to send physical copies in 2020. Please do not send hard copies of the book to ALTA directly. Books sent to ALTA will not be considered submitted for the award.